#Catholics, #Christians, #God, #Jews, #LDS, #love, #Power, #Protestants, #Scriptures, #ShareGoodness, #Truth

Small and Simple Things

A very small thing to most is the reading of the Holy Scriptures. Yet, this is what they did for me before I was even 5 years old: The story of Daniel, when he was in Nebuchadnezzar’s court gave me faith and hope for things to improve. They showed me that others, who were obedient to God were saved and over the years, I have proven that He does this same thing for me. I know He can do it for you as well.
My older sister read to me in private, so no one would know she was speaking. We had been forbidden to speak, so she was risking great punishment by doing so. This was not an easy thing for her, yet she shared this story from the Holy Scriptures with me. It has stayed with me all these years, and that is a very long time. I see a parallel in today’s society. I invite you to read this story and see if you feel the same way. (The Book of Daniel found in the King James Version of the Holy Bible – Old Testament)

This particular story from the Book of Daniel told me that Shadrach, Meshach and Abed-nego were children of the most-high God. They did what the laws of Moses had instructed them to do. They lived the commandments and kept the Word of Wisdom regarding diet. They were obedient, even though they lived in a society that went against all those things. They were doing what they knew to be the right thing, while others laughed or mocked or tried to stop them. The laws allowed evil to run rampant in the city and country back then.

These three young men, because they would not worship the idols of the king, were to be cast into the midst of a burning fiery furnace.

We know that the King really liked these three young men. He had placed them in his own palace because they were such wise young men. It hurt him that he might have to punish them, so he warned them what would happen if they did not at least “make the appearance” of worshiping, as all the other people did. He flat out ask them who this god was that they worshiped, and how he could deliver them out of his hands.

Here is the answer they gave:

“If it be so, our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the burning fiery furnace, and He will deliver us out of thine hand, O king.
“But if not, be it known unto thee, O king, that we will not serve thy gods, nor worship the golden image which thou hast set up.” (Daniel 3:17-18)

Are we that brave? Are we that knowledgeable to trust God that much? Do our young people today know that God is real because we have read the Holy Scriptures to them, so they can learn how others lived and suffered and were saved by being obedient? Have we seen for ourselves that He is not only able, but that He desires to bless us and help us during our struggles of living in the world? Are we able to live ‘in’ the world, while not being a part of the world?

I invite you to read to children, no matter how old they are. As I said, I was not even 5 years old, yet these words and feelings have blessed me all my life. I ask you, how can the Holy Spirit bring to our minds that which we do not know nor have ever heard before? Once the words of truth are in our minds, they can be that second witness to what the Holy Spirit is sharing is truth. When He speaks to us in that quiet whisper, if we have no other witness of the truth He shares, others in the world might be able to convince us otherwise. I never wanted my children to suffer as I did, yet, I was only able to read to them when they were babies. I do pray over the years you have not only read privately, but also read to others, no matter their ages.

Please, brothers and sisters, read to your children. Read words of truth so they can withstand the temptations of this day just as Shadrach, Meshach and Abed-nego did.

Standard

Leave a Reply

