#BookOfMormon, #Gift, #Invitation, #JesusChrist, #Prayer, #ShareGoodness, #Testimony, #Truth

A Most Precious Book

Many years ago, two young men gave me a book. They told me that within it’s pages I would find truth. As I read from it’s pages, I saw what they told me earlier was truth.  I would like to share a few of the things I learned from this wonderful book that night.

This is part of the story of a man by the name of Lehi. He too was a visionary person, and one time he had a dream wherein he saw a tree. This is part of his dream:

“And it came to pass that I did go forth and partake of the fruit thereof; and I beheld that it was most sweet, above all that I ever before tasted. Yea, and I beheld that the fruit thereof was white, to exceed all the whiteness that I had ever seen.

“And as I partook of the fruit thereof it filled my soul with exceedingly great joy; wherefore, I began to be desirous that my family should partake of it also; for I knew that it was desirable above all other fruit.

“And as I cast my eyes round about, that perhaps I might discover my family also, I beheld a river of water; and it ran along, and it was near the tree of which I was partaking the fruit. (1 Nephi 8: 11-13)

For me, the “fruit” that he spoke of, was the Holy Scriptures. In years past I had read from the Holy Bible, the words of Isaiah, other prophets and even Jesus Christ and his Apostles. I had read how wonderful it was for people who were treated poorly or shunned by others to follow those who could lead them to God. Growing up, I had wanted a Father as the father of Shadrach, Meshach and Abed-nego who sent His Son to save them from wicked people who wanted to kill them. When those two young men left that blue book, I sat up all night reading, and towards the end of the night and early dawn, I read these words:

“Behold, I would exhort you that when ye shall read these things, if it be wisdom in God that ye should read them, that ye would remember how merciful the Lord hath been unto the children of men, from the creation of Adam even down until the time that ye shall receive these things, and ponder it in your hearts.”

“And when ye shall receive these things, I would exhort you that ye would ask God, the Eternal Father, in the name of Christ, if these things are not true; and if ye shall ask with a sincere heart, with real intent, having faith in Christ, he will manifest the truth of it unto you, by the power of the Holy Ghost.”

“And by the power of the Holy Ghost ye may know the truth of all things.”

“And whatsoever thing is good is just and true; wherefore, nothing that is good denieth the Christ, but acknowledgeth that he is.”

“And ye may know that he is, by the power of the Holy Ghost; wherefore I would exhort you that ye deny not the power of God; for he worketh by power, according to the faith of the children of men, the same today and tomorrow, and forever.” (Moroni 10:3-7)

I would like to invite you to get a copy of this book and read it for yourself. It is called, “The Book of Mormon.”

Mormon was a man who was very valient in preserving the records of the descendants of Lehi as well as others who lived on the American Continent prior to Columbus; prior to the Pilgrims; prior to most other nations. God had instructed him to hide them up so they would not be destroyed. God had made a promise to His people that in the last days those records would come forth to help teach those who really did not know Jesus Christ, His only begotten Son. This is why the book is named after him.

Since God never lies, and Mormon knew that, he buried them up and many centuries later, another man, asked God which Church to join. Many churches use that same Holy Bible, only different versions of it, but they all teach different things. But that is for another day. Just now, I invite you to read and then pray and ask God yourself if this true or not.

You can obtain a free copy at: http://www.mormon.org/  If you have any question, there are people there 24/7 and someone will be more than happy to answer your questions. If you don’t want to talk, you may request a copy of the book and no one will bother you.

Always remember, and never forget: Jesus Christ died for you personally. God is your Heavenly Father and He loves you, personally. It is up to you, personally, to learn that for yourself, so you too may have a personal testimony of this truth.

Standard

Leave a Reply

