#Atonement, #Catholic, #Christ, #Christians, #God, #JesusChrist, #LDS, #love, #Protestant, #ShareGoodness

What think ye of Christ?

In the Holy Scriptures we find these words:

“What think ye of Christ?” (Matthew 22:42)

Many of the prophets throughout the ages have taught truth and asked us this same question. In what I am sharing, where it says “men” I am including “women”. I know that the Lord loves us equally, and thus expects the same from us all.

Many who have read the Holy Scriptures, most especially the Book of Mormon, can be convinced that Jesus is the Christ. The interesting question comes next: “Will we choose to follow him?” The devils believe that Jesus is the Christ, but they choose to follow Satan. (James 2:19-20)

“Master, which is the great commandment in the law?”
“Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.”
“This is the first and great commandment.” (Matthew 22:36-38)

As you know, I listen to prophets both living and dead. Thus, I shall be quoting from both.

“When you choose to follow Christ, you choose to be changed.” (President Ezra Taft Benson, October 1985)

I knew that prophet personally. He was a very wise man. He gave me good counsel when he called me to Utah to serve a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day-saints. My official mission for the Church ended in 1990. I received an honorable release.

“No man or woman can sincerely resolve to apply in his or her daily life the teachings of Jesus of Nazareth without sensing a change in his or her own nature. The phrase ‘born again’ has a deeper significance than many people attach to it. This changed feeling may be indescribable, but it is real.” (David O McKay, In Conference Report, Apr. 1962, p. 7.)

Here again, I shall quote from President Benson as well as from Peter and Paul and John from the New Testament:

“The Lord works from the inside out. The world works from the outside in. The world would take people out of the slums. Christ takes the slums out of people, and then they take themselves out of the slums. The world would mold men and women by changing their environment. Christ changes men and women, who then change their environment. The world would shape human behavior, but Christ can change human nature.” (President Ezra Taft Benson)

Men and women changed for Christ will be captained by Christ. Like Paul they will be asking, “Lord, what wilt thou have me to do?” (Acts 9:6.)

Peter stated, they will “follow his steps.” (1 Peter 2:21.)

John said they will “walk, even as he walked.” (1 John 2:6.)

Our Lord told Nicodemus that “except a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God.” (John 3:3.)

“This is the simple total answer to the weightiest of all questions. … To gain eternal life there must be a rebirth, a transformation.” (Spencer W Kimball, In Conference Report, Apr. 1958, p. 14.)

Their will is swallowed up in His will. (See John 5:30.)

“…as my Father hath taught me, I speak these things.

“And he that sent me is with me: the Father hath not left me alone; for I do always those things that please him.”

Jesus taught us how to do those things that please our Heavenly Father by setting the example. As my Lord taught me, I strive to share these same things with you as well as live them myself. And He that gave me life is with me: yeah, the Father hath not left me alone, for I do those things that I know are pleasing to Him. When I mess up, I repent.

Lip service is worth nothing.  I would not only die for the Lord, but I will live for Him as well. What do you think of Christ?

Standard

Leave a Reply

