#Catholic, #Christian, #JesusChrist, #LDS, #love, #Obedience, #Protestant, #ShareGoodness, #Truth

Obedience: Is it important?

“Obedience builds faith in Christ. Faith is a principle of action and power. Consistently following the Savior’s example produces spiritual power and capacity. Without the strengthening and enabling power of the Atonement, it’s impossible to stay on the path and endure.”

“To heed is to give careful attention. Heeding those who do not believe in Christ will not help you find Him. Searching #spaciousbuilding for knowledge will not lead you to truth. It’s not posted there. Only the Savior has “the words of eternal life.” Everything else is just words.”

“True disciples continue to awaken unto God each day in meaningful personal prayer, earnest scripture study, personal obedience, and selfless service.” (part of a talk given by Kevin W Pearson, a member of the Seventy in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day-saints)

In the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day-saints, we have a book called the “Book of Mormon” which tells of ancient people who populated the American Continent prior to the coming of Jesus Christ.

I personally have read this book, many times. In fact, I read it most every day, along with the Holy Bible. They help me to withstand the evil in the world today and have shown me how to overcome my own issues. The Book of Mormon is very plain and speaks in words that are easy for me to understand. While I love the Holy Bible, I also love the Book of Mormon, as it shows me specifically what to watch for and how to stay close to the Lord. It works for me.

This book is another testimony of Jesus Christ, as written by people and preserved and edited by a man whose name was Mormon. While I only shared a part of Elder Pearson’s talk, it is because that good man was addressing members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day-saints who have already read the Book of Mormon, so we could relate to the things he said.

If the choice comes, where you can only read one book, I suggest it be the Book of Mormon. But then, I had already read the Holy Bible before I ever heard of that book. As I read it, I felt the same Spirit that exists in the Holy Bible. Others may tell you not to read it, but then, when asked if they have ever read it, they will probably say no. Or perhaps they might have read a page or two, and then tossed it away.

One of the stories in the Book of Mormon, is of a young man who became a prophet, just as his father had been a prophet back in Jerusalem. This young man’s name was Nephi. He had two brothers who rebelled against their father and were very wicked. They were also very cruel to Nephi, yet, Nephi loved his brothers and taught them truth. I would like to share this same truth with you: (I have changed the tense from past to present: “would” to “will”, plus I changed “possessed” to “possess”.)

“. . .whoso will hearken unto the word of God, and will hold fast unto it, they will never perish; neither can the temptations and the fiery darts of the adversary overpower them unto blindness, to lead them away to destruction.”
“Wherefore, I, Nephi, did exhort them to give heed unto the word of the Lord; yea, I did exhort them with all the energies of my soul, and with all the faculty which I possess, that they will give heed to the word of God and remember to keep his commandments always in all things.” (1 Nephi 15: 24-25)

Personally, I know that when we turn toward the Lord, and hold fast to the truths prophets have given and are giving us, we can live a much better life, plus we can have eternal life when this mortal life is over. Please, always remember and never forget: No person gets out of this life alive and you can’t take anything with you.

Jesus Christ died and arose again to show us we can live forever. He was a God, yet He came to earth and even He had to die. He was totally obedient to our Heavenly Father. I for one am trying to be like Him, so when I get home, God the Eternal Father will say, “Welcome home, my beloved daughter.”

If you would like to know more, or obtain your own copy of the Book of Mormon at no cost, I invite you to go to: http://www.mormon.org/eng

Hugs to you from a foster sister, aunt, mother or even grandma or great-grandma.

Standard

Leave a Reply

