#America, #Catholic, #Christian, #ElderPerry, #Family, #Gift, #JesusChrist, #LDS, #PopeFrancis, #ShareGoodness, #Truth

Whom do you follow?

The Apostles of the Lord Jesus Christ, while He was upon the earth, taught many of the same principles that our living prophets and apostles teach today. For example, in the Holy Bible, James, an Apostle of the Lord Jesus Christ once said:

“Behold, we put bits in the horses’ mouths, that they may obey us; and we turn about their whole body.”(James 3: 3)

I find it interesting that living Apostles still teach us the same thing. They teach us in plain and simple ways, just as they did back in James day.

“One day I asked my grandfather how I would know if I was always doing the right thing, given that life presents so many choices. As my grandfather usually did, he answered me with an experience from farm life.”

“He taught me about breaking in a team of horses so that they would work together. He explained that a team of horses must always know who is in charge. One of the keys to asserting control and directing a horse is a harness and bit. If a member of the team ever believes that it does not need to obey the will of the driver, the team will never pull and work together to maximize their ability.”

“Now let’s examine the lesson my grandfather taught me using this example. Who is the driver of the team of horses? My grandfather believed it is the Lord. He is the one who has a purpose and a plan. He is also the trainer and builder of the team of horses and, in turn, each individual horse. The driver knows best, and the only way for a horse to know it is always doing the right thing is to be obedient and follow the driver’s lead.”( L. Tom Perry, an Apostle of the Lord Jesus Christ.)

One of the things I love about Apostles is that they always give clear direction. I have heard many people say that what the apostles ask is just too hard. “It is not all black and white,” they say, “there are many shades of grey. Things are different today.” Perhaps you have heard this as well. The Lord, Jesus Christ was totally obedient to His Father. He never said, “Oh, let me just disobey today, and then I’ll do better tomorrow. There is plenty of time.” Thus, why do we tend to justify our lives in that way? Didn’t Jesus say, “Come follow me” ?

Then said Jesus unto his disciples, “If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.” (Matthew 16: 24)  (NOTE: He was speaking to women as well as men.)

From what you can read in the Holy Bible or the Book of Mormon, you will see that not all people changed. Not all people wanted to stop doing what they were doing, much like in this day. In those days, everyone used horses, donkey’s or camels, so they understood about a “bit”, however, now we have other modes of transportation. Can you imagine being on an airplane and having the pilot say, “I think i’ll not follow the rules on being a pilot today. I’d rather just let the plane do it’s own thing.”

Now you might think, “Isn’t that why they have auto pilot?” Try asking a real pilot about that and he or she will set you straight on that. Just as there is cruise control in cars, I would not want to trust that during freeway traffic during rush hour, would you?

Regarding families: Pope Francis, of the Catholic Church said:

“We now live in a culture of the temporary, in which more and more people are simply giving up on marriage as a public commitment. This revolution in manners and morals has often flown the flag of freedom, but in fact it has brought spiritual and material devastation to countless human beings, especially the poorest and most vulnerable. … It is always they who suffer the most in this crisis.”

In referring to those of the rising generation, Pope Francis said it is important that they “do not give themselves over to the poisonous [mentality] of the temporary, but rather be revolutionaries with the courage to seek true and lasting love, going against the common pattern”. (Complementarity of Man and Woman, Nov. 17, 2014, humanum.it/en/videos; see also zenit.org/en/articles/pope-francis-address-at-opening-of-colloquium-on-complementarity-of-man-and-woman.)

Today, in my email, I received a prayer request from a member of a Protestant church.  It is wonderful to know that many of us are pulling together, as a team, to exercise our faith and prayers in doing what God wants us to do. By being obedient to God; following the commandments; and praying for those who lead our nation: there is great strength. By praying for those whose hearts are hardened, that they might chose to repent, we give America back to God (who gave it to us in the first place). God decided a very long time ago about what a family should be. Even though I did not come from a loving family, that does not mean I do not believe in families. In deed, I do believe in the kind of families God wants us to have. 

For several years, we have had the “Proclamation on the Family” put out by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day-saints. have you read it, yet? https://www.lds.org/topics/family-proclamation  I recommend you read it, and then pray above it. It is truth from God.

As for me and my house, I will follow Jesus Christ.

Standard

Leave a Reply

