#Atonement, #Christians, #Faith, #Hope, #JesusChrist, #Jew, #LDS, #love, #PresMonson, #Prophets, #Scripture

Prophets

It must be remembered in studying the lives and messages of the prophets of the Holy Bible and the Book of Mormon, that in their day and times, things were not exactly like today. There were no television sets, no automobiles, no cell phones, nor computers. Generally the prophets were confined to a rather small geographical area. They acted within their culture, just as the prophets of today.

“For the prophecy came not in old time by the will of man: but holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost.” (2 Peter 1:21)

God must choose whom will be His prophet. This is entirely different than for man to choose God. You can’t go to school to become a prophet, only God makes His choice.

The Lord Himself said:

“Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you.”

“Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known unto you.”

“Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you.”

“These things I command you, that ye love one another.” (John 15: 14-17)”

Many years ago, a very wise man, whom was an Apostle of Jesus Christ said:

“God raised up prophets in ancient Israel for the same reasons He raises up prophets today. They are to teach the people the laws of God and how to live them, call the people to repentance when necessary, and bear witness of Jesus Christ. The work of all true prophets of all ages is to act as God’s messenger and make known God’s will.” Elder A. Theodore Tuttle

Each prophet spoke, and those now living speak to us in words we can understand. Plain and simple words in whichever language we speak. No matter what level of education we have. Just as Jesus spoke in language the people of Jerusalem understood within all levels of education. He spoke of vineyards, and flowers and what the people knew. Now, prophets speak in whichever language and people they are among, of how to overcome, just as Jesus did. God puts words and thoughts into prophets minds which they in turn speak to us.

God loves us, yet as you know, we are not always obedient children. We do things that are displeasing to Him, and need to repent and turn back towards Him. As Moses told his people:

“For the Lord thy God is a consuming fire, even a jealous God. “Deuteronomy 4:24)

He was very concerned about the reverence due God. Many of his people were afraid of God. As with Moses, I know He is a living, loving, caring and forgiving being. God does run out of patience however, when His children refuse to repent. He has always wanted to be personal with His children, not just in days past, but rather He does now as well. If you have children, don’t you sometimes run out of patience with them? Yet, you love them, right?

“And Moses brought forth the people out of the camp to meet with God; and they stood at the nether part of the mount.” (Exodus 19: 17)

Many of those people were afraid and ran away thinking God was too powerful and if they left His presence, He would not see them. Many today make that same mistake. They think He is not watching. Moses said something to his people that I would like to share with you:

“And Moses said unto him, Enviest thou for my sake? would God that all the Lord’s people were prophets, and that the Lord would put his spirit upon them!” (Number 11: 29)

God has called Thomas S Monson as a prophet to guide us today. Many years ago he said:

“Our youth need less criticism and more models to follow.”

I believe we still need to be better models of what we want all children to become. Not just by words, but by our own actions. Another thing that he stresses is to:

“. . . Become converted to the gospel of Jesus Christ and live by its teachings.”

Always, I wish to share with you that which I know to be truth:

“For do we not read that God is the same yesterday, today, and forever, and in him there is no variableness neither shadow of changing?”

“And now, if ye have imagined up unto yourselves a god who doth vary, and in whom there is shadow of changing, then have ye imagined up unto yourselves a god who is not a God of miracles.”

“But behold, I will show unto you a God of miracles, even the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob; and it is that same God who created the heavens and the earth, and all things that in them are.” (Mormon 9:9-11)

I know that God is a God of miracles. If you will take the time to look around, you too can know Him for yourself. I love God. I also love the prophets, both living and dead. I have learned so much about life by following their counsel. When I make mistakes, I repent as quickly as I am able and begin again to walk the walk so He will have no doubt where I am nor whom I follow.

I invite you to use this great gift of repentance and listen to living prophets then turn to the Lord God who loves us all. I am looking forward to seeing Him again. How about you?

Standard

Leave a Reply

