#Atonement, #Charity, #JesusChrist, #LDS, #love, #ShareGoodness

What Jesus Did for Me

Alma 5:13-14

And behold, he preached the word unto your fathers, and a mighty change was also wrought in their hearts, and they humbled themselves and put their trust in the true and living God. And behold, they were faithful until the end; therefore they were saved.

And now behold, I ask of you, my brethren of the church, have ye spiritually been born of God? Have ye received his image in your countenances? Have ye experienced this mighty change in your hearts?

When I first heard the gospel, I was very excited. I gave away all my sins to become a member of the lord’s Church, and yet, as soon as I was offended I walked away. While I knew God loved me, and the Lord was my Saviour, I did not believe in His Church. I left the only group of people who would have understood and it was about 10 years later that I came to really know His people and understand how to forgive and allow what they had to teach me into my mind and heart.

Once I understood why Jesus Christ did what He did, it was easy to live the Gospel. I continue to grow in knowledge of the Lord and how to have compassion on others. I began to understand that “Charity” is not just giving money. Jesus had charity towards all of those who walked on the earth when He did. He set the perfect example for us.

It is not easy to have compassion and show charity towards all mankind, especially those who are different than you are. Not easy indeed, yet in my heart, I have learned how to have compassion and charity as the Lord did. Jesus was very lenient towards mankind. He did not judge harshly, but rather showed love towards all of humankind.

He asks of us, to love one another, as He has loved us. God said, “If ye love me, keep my commandments.” When you walk one step and then take another, holding onto the Lord’s hand, you have the light of The Christ to go before you. It is most bright and warm and welcoming. Not like the world at all. When asked what the greatest commandment was, Jesus replied, “Thou shalt love the Lord, thy God, with all thy heart, might, mind and strength. And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love they neighbor as thyself.”

Growing up, I had never really loved myself, thus, even though I thought I loved my neighbor, I did not know how to love. Jesus was talking about real love. With the Lord’s help, I have been finding out how to love with all my heart, might, mind and strength. Early on, I learned hate and disrespect. I first hated myself, then others. Learning how to love was not so easy, as I had never seen it. That is, until I was about 11 years old and met Miss Ingram and others who did not disrespect me with what I thought was love, but rather showed me what the word “Love” really was. Hollygrove Home for Children was a wake up call for me.I found music within my soul. I was shown how to smile, I learned how to speak to others. I learned I was not what others had lead me to believe I was. I found that life can contain happiness.

In the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day-saints there are all kinds of people. Each moving at their own speed and in their own time. There are those who have left the Church, only they tend to keep picking it apart and can’t seem to leave it alone. There are those who find it too hard, yet they refuse to remove their names from it’s rolls, thinking just their name will save them. They do not realize it would be better to have never known Him then to do this. There are many who love the followers of Jesus Christ with all our hearts and strive to do all that Jesus Christ has asked us to do. We are those who still make mistakes, yet know that at least we are trying our best to do what is right. These are those who move forward with faith in Christ Jesus along the path that leads to eternal life.

Compared to the rest of the world, we might be few, but we are those whom can bless the rest of the world. Elijah has returned and the Lord is coming back as well. At the end of the Old Testament in the Holy Bible it says:

1 For, behold, the day cometh, that shall burn as an oven; and all the proud, yea, and all that do wickedly, shall be stubble: and the day that cometh shall burn them up, saith the Lord of hosts, that it shall leave them neither root nor branch.

2 ¶But unto you that fear my name shall the Sun of righteousness arise with healing in his wings; and ye shall go forth, and grow up as calves of the stall.

3 And ye shall tread down the wicked; for they shall be ashes under the soles of your feet in the day that I shall do this, saith the Lord of hosts.

4 ¶Remember ye the law of Moses my servant, which I commanded unto him in Horeb for all Israel, with the statutes and judgments.

5 ¶Behold, I will send you Elijah the prophet before the coming of the great and dreadful day of the Lord:

6 And he shall turn the heart of the fathers to the children, and the heart of the children to their fathers, lest I come and smite the earth with a curse. Malachi 4: 1-6

The Atonement

Standard

Leave a Reply

