#Atonement, #ElderCook, #Hope, #JesusChrist, #LDS, #love, #ShareGoodness

Be As A Sunflower

“One of the remarkable characteristics of young wild sunflowers, in addition to growing in soil that is not hospitable, is how the young flower bud follows the sun across the sky. In doing so, it receives life-sustaining energy before bursting forth in its glorious yellow color.”

“Like the young sunflower, when we follow the Savior of the world, the Son of God, we flourish and become glorious despite the many terrible circumstances that surround us. He truly is our light and life.”

By Elder Quentin L. Cook
Of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles

Elder Cook continued: “If the grim realities you are facing at this time seem dark and heavy and almost unbearable, remember that in the soul-wrenching darkness of Gethsemane and the incomprehensible torture and pain of Calvary, the Savior accomplished the Atonement, which resolves the most terrible burdens that can occur in this life. He did it for you, and He did it for me. He did it because He loves us and because He obeys and loves His Father. We will be rescued from death—even from the depths of the sea.”

While I was in hiding from my last husband and my family, I had been afraid to tell anyone about them. However, my ex showed up and once again began to make himself a pest. He cut the brakes on my car, he broke into my home and left me a dirty little message. He made me fear for my life, again. When the police suggested I leave town, I contacted my bishop. He was most understanding, and reached out to help. It was the first time I had really had anyone believe in me, stand up for me and really help me. The men and women of the particular ward cared about me and stood beside me to help me become the best I could be, in spite of my youth and growing up years.

When we know that Jesus Christ is on our side, then we can do all things. This is a proven fact. Over the years I have never found so many who wanted me to succeed. I have found the Lord’s Church, even the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day-saints wants all of us to succeed. This is not a race thing, nor a culture thing. It is the real thing.

Standard

Leave a Reply

