#Christian, #Compassion, #Family, #Fathers, #Forgiveness, #God, #LDS, #love, #ShareGoodness

Honor thy Father and thy Mother

Today I have been trying to find a way to honor my father. This is not an easy thing, as my father claimed to be a Christian, yet his actions proved him otherwise. Nonetheless, the Lord God gave us the 5th commandment and because I want to be obedient to God, I have struggled for years with this commandment:

“Honour thy father and thy mother, as the Lord thy God hath commanded thee; that thy days may be prolonged, and that it may go well with thee, in the land which the Lord thy God giveth thee.” Deuteronomy 5:16

It is easy to honor my mother, she did a very noble thing by giving me birth. While striving to find an answer to my problem regarding my father, I went to the scriptures. I came across this verse given by the Apostle Neal A Maxwell:

“The fifth commandment’s laudable emphasis upon honoring parents, unless checked by the first commandment, could result in unconditional loyalty to errant parents rather than to God.” “Behold the Enemy is Combined”, April 1993.

I am so grateful for prophets to help us find truth. My goodness, most of us who grew up in homes where abuse was the norm, find it very difficult to keep that particular commandment, because they never saw anyone honoring them. Clean love is so important for children, don’t you agree?

Alexander Pope cautioned:

“Vice is a monster of so frightful mien,

As, to the hated, needs but to be seen;

Yet seen too oft, familiar with her face,

We first endure, then pity, then embrace.”

Another thing that made so much sense to me, again from Elder Maxwell:

“Abortion, which has increased enormously, causes one to ask, “Have we strayed so far from God’s second great commandment—love thy neighbor—that a baby in a womb no longer qualifies to be loved—at least as a mother’s neighbor?” Even so, violence to an unborn child does not justify other violence!”

My father wanted me dead before I was born, yet mother would not do it. After I was gang raped and became pregnant, everyone kept trying to get me to abort. yet I would not do it. An innocent baby is not to fault for what it’s parents do. My goodness, it is so hard for me to comprehend what people are thinking.

Never forget what Elder Dallin H. Oaks said:

“Agency – the power to choose is fundamental to Heavenly Father’s plan, even when the consequences of some person’s choice may create an unwanted result. Agency is necessary, for if God intervened to forestall the consequences of a person’s choice, He would destroy His plan for eternal progress.”

Here is something else he said:

“The love of God does not supersede His laws and His commandments, and the effect of God’s laws and commandments does not diminish the purpose and effect of His love. The same should be true of parental love and rules.”

I do so love the blessings we receive from those whom we follow. I have felt the hand of God when I hear them speak or read their words. I know the Lord lives and loves each and every one of us. I know that Joseph Smith Jr. was a prophet and the Book of Mormon was translated by him as a means to help us in our time to understand what God has in store for us. I know that within the pages of that book are the wisdom of the ages, told to us from the lips of those who lived here on the American Continent. I know that when we follow the teachings of the prophets, both living and dead, we and our families are the ones who are blessed. When we chose to disobey and go our own ways, then we reap the whirlwinds.

To my brothers and sisters who believe that women should marry women and men should marry men, I beg you to ask God. In the days of Noah, they believed this way also. If you care to read the story of Noah’s time, get out your bibles.

Go to Genesis 6:5

“And God saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.”

Drop down to verses 11-13 and ask yourself, is this really worth it?

11 The earth also was corrupt before God, and the earth was filled with violence.

12 And God looked upon the earth, and, behold, it was corrupt; for all flesh had corrupted his way upon the earth.

13 And God said unto Noah, The end of all flesh is come before me; for the earth is filled with violence through them; and, behold, I will destroy them with the earth.

God gave us the rainbow to let us know that never again will He use a flood to destroy mankind. The next time it shall be by fire.

Isaiah 29:6

“Thou shalt be visited of the Lord of hosts with thunder, and with earthquake, and great noise, with storm and tempest, and the flame of devouring fire.”

Look around you my brothers and sisters. Look around. Then, look up.

I know that by honoring God, I am keeping the 5th commandment. This is the answer to my question on this beautiful May afternoon. I pray that these things I have shared with you, can bring peace to someone you know who is struggling with this same issue. The Lord is the final judge. If we will continue to do what is right, then even those who abused us will find that the Atonement of Jesus Christ is just and merciful. Hugs from a distance.

Standard

Leave a Reply

