#Christian, #Faith, #God, #JesusChrist, #Missionaries, #Prayer, #ShareGoodness

Prayer

My first prayer was probably a lot different than yours. The good thing is, we both prayed.

My mother died when I was 3 years, 6 months and 23 days old. The following day things changed in our home. I remember being in a cold, dark closet, battered and alone. Terrified of the dark, because I had been told a large black man was going to come out of the dark and hurt me, I huddled in the corner and wept quietly. But that which had been told me is not what happened. I had never seen a black person before, so had no clue what one looked like. But rather than a large evil man hurting me, the room became very warm and light rather than dark. When I opened my eyes I was in a large field where the sun was shining, flowers were growing, the birds were singing, and butterflies were swirling around in the sky. I was with someone whom I knew loved me. I never saw his face, but I felt safe and that was what I needed.

When I was in my 20’s, Doctor’s told me that was just a dream, however, for this woman, that was a blessing. For the next while, I ended up living in my father’s back yard, with animals to nurse me, rather than humans. I watched the changing of the sky from light to dark and back again. I slept under a grape arbor and talked to God in ways that few humans ever do. I existed on the fruit of the trees when they fell to the ground and wild berries. I drank from the ponds of water my sister made from the garden hose when no one was watching. Life was most different for me then most children.

As I grew older, I talked to God with music. I would strum the strings of my Autoharp and look up into the heavens. When I got too polluted by humans, and stopped liking myself, I would go to the mountains where I could be with God and the animals of nature. I tried to make the best out of hard times, yet I was missing something. In many countries around the world, many children do the same things. We are all different, yet we are all the same. Many children struggle because of unkind humans. Yet God knows all things and those whom harm little children will have to answer to Jesus Christ for what they do.

In 1973 two young men came to my door. Those blessed men taught me the true order of Prayer, and I have been praying that way every since. When I was able, I got on my knees and addressed my Heavenly Father. I gave thanks for the many blessings He had provided me over the years. I told Him of my sorrows and fears and asked for His help. Then, I closed my prayers in the name of Jesus Christ, got up and began again.

Now, I pray either sitting down, or laying down. I do still bow my head, however at times, I can not even do that, yet I know He hears me. In my own home, I can speak my prayers out loud. When I am around people, I only pray inside my heart and mind. Now, there are times when I pray for and with a room full of people, and other times during the day or night I pray by myself, yet I still pray for others as well as myself.

Those two young men were Missionaries from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day-saints. They gave me a book called The Book of Mormon and told me that I am a child of God. I had always wished I could be a child of God, but did not believe that a person such as I could ever have that honor. Yet, I testify to you that God loves me, just as He loves you. We may be worlds apart in the way we were raised, yet, God knows each of us by name. He knows all we have been through and are going through. He knows all we have done. He knows what we stand in need of and He does answer our prayers. He created the heavens and the earth and He is the only way we can have peace upon this earth.

it is my prayer that you too will listen when the Missionaries come to your door. Invite them in and listen to what they have to teach you. Read the material they give you and ask your questions, then, get on your knees and ask God if it is not true. He will tell you in your heart and in your mind, and then you too can have peace in times of trial.

I share these things with you In the Sacred name of Jesus Christ, amen

Standard

Leave a Reply

