#Callings, #LDS, #MIssionary service, #Patience

Patience

President Urchtdorf said, “It is true that weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning (Psalm 30:5). Patience works because those who learn to wait upon the Lord, who learn patience, can wait until the dawn breaks without giving in to the darkness of despair. Life will show us that patience leads to great blessings, we just need to learn to trust in God, or in other words “be still, and know that [He is] God.””

I remember when I was on my mission and struggling to learn how to be patient. I was on my knees in my bedroom pleading with the Lord to help me. The words “be still and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10) came to mind. I am rather hard headed, and thought, “But Father, you don’t understand. . . .” Again I felt, “Be still and know that I am God.” I took a breath and became obedient. As I did, I heard a faint tap on the door. It was my companion. After that, we began to work together in a manner that allowed us to find those whom had been prepared to hear truth. It was wonderful.

Being a missionary is not easy. It is not just those whom you are trying to teach, it is being taught yourself. I love the way Father teaches us. My goodness. If it were not for His love, I would have had no hope. Out of all my companions, (and I had a few) she was the first one to fullfill her dual mission. It gave me deep joy to know that after her mission ended, she went on to serve a second mission for the Lord. I am so proud of her.  All the others were kind, decent people who love the Lord, but a dual mission is not easy. I used many Stake Missionaries and Family History Missionaries to help in the work, but she was willing to do both, so I was able to finish my mission the way I wished to have started it.

Bless her heart. As she shared her testimony at this one man’s home, I could see the light come on in his eyes and when it came time for him to be baptised, he invited his old priest to come. From what I heard after my mission ended, he was singing in his ward choir and doing very well in his new calling.

I loved my mission and wish I was healthy enough to serve full time again. The good news is, “Once a missionary, always a missionary.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

