#BeCauseHeLives, #Christian, #God, #JesusChrist, #LDS, #LDSConf, #Mormon, #peace, #Trust

My very first living prophet

I joined and began to be active in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day-saints when Spencer W Kimball was called of God to be the leader of His son’s church. I testify that He was a living prophet and now has died and gone the way of all the earth. This man was a man of illness and in great pain. He suffered so much, yet he walked with God and was directed by God in what all of us need to hear so that we too may be able to go home in honor. I respected him greatly.

Did you know that when we do what is right it gives God joy? It’s true. And not only that, He gives us great joy as well. It makes me feel good to know that I can give back something to someone who loves me so much. How about you?

One of the things he asked us to do was send our pedigree charts to Salt Lake City, Utah, which is the headquarters of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day-saints. At first, I felt sick. I mean, I had no clue who I was. I had been raised by animals and those who did not love me. Up until I joined the Lord’s church I wanted nothing to do with them. However, I did want to be obedient, so I went to the family history department of the ward in which I resided and asked how to prepare mine. The people there were most kind and walked me through the steps.

I’m not going to go into a lot of detail, but I shall tell you this: when you are obedient to a man of God, you receive blessings from God himself.

Now, don’t think I follow blindly. Oh no! I remember the Jones people and those others who followed false prophets. Back in the Old Testament, Ezekiel spoke of false prophets and what God would do to anyone who tried to lead us astray. Go to Ezekiel chapter 14 and read what that prophet had to say. It might shock you.

When you hear someone say that they are a prophet of God, I suggest you ask God if that man was called by Him . He’ll tell you so you can have no doubt. He prepares them years and years before He calls them to that position.

Not to put others down, however If I may, I’d like to share a funny, yet sad story with you. I have many friends who are also disabled. I have one female friend who has no legs. Another woman where we were living invited she and I to go to church with her. We did. She was telling us how this man was a prophet and we were going to the temple where he held meetings. When we went inside the back of a strip mall, there was a large wooden cross up front with wheelchairs, crutches, and canes leaning against that cross. Everyone was praising Jesus and swaying too and fro. I felt they had the spirit of love of the Lord. I sat patiently and listened as he quoted scripture, then he said he wanted to bless someone. He came over to my friend, and placing his hands on her head, told her to stand up and walk. Every one in the room shouted “Amen”.

I hate to disappoint anyone, but God does not work that way. She did not sprout new legs, nor was she able to stand and walk. When she quit laughing, they asked us to leave, and the girl who brought us was very angry that we had embarrassed her in front of her friends.

If you want to see real prophets, I suggest you attend a General Conference of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day-saints. Or go online https://www.lds.org/general-conference?lang=eng  You can listen in many different languages.

They look just like ordinary people. They come from all races and occupations and all countries. God is not a partial God. He loves all His children. and rather you believe it or not, you are one of His children.

Standard

Leave a Reply

